F4 Award for Outstanding New Australian Documentary Talent

The F4 Award recognises the talent of one exceptional up and coming Australian filmmaker.

Finalists participate in a mentoring program held during DocWeek, and their films are judged by a panel of high profile international documentary professionals.

The F4 Screening and Development Program is presented by Flinders University and showcases first films from four Australian emerging documentary filmmakers. The films represent Australia’s most promising emerging filmmakers and their films during DocWeek in Adelaide, Australia.

2014 F4 Award Announced

The winner of the 2014 F4 Award for Outstanding New Australian Documentary Talent is Jakeb Anhvu.

Jakeb Anhvu is a graduate of The Victorian College of the Arts. As a writer, director, editor and producer, his short films include Dan Bau Lullaby (2013) and The Marshall Cooking Show (2004).

Blush of Fruit (2012) is his feature debut.  This film screens on Sunday 9 March, 6pm at the Palace Nova Eastend Cinema.

Jakeb won the 2013 Adelaide Film Festival, Flinders University Documentary Award for Blush of Fruit.

An honorary mention to Clare Young, Director of From The Bottom of the Lake.

What the Jury Predisent Said...

Jury President and Head of Pacific and Mekong-ABC International, Domenic Friguglietti said, “It was a wonderful opportunity and a difficult task for the Jury to assess which filmmaker from the Asia Pacific region was able to best articulate their creative vision and potential.

In short, all of the films demonstrated the craft of documentary at its finest. Reaching a recommendation was one of the hardest deliberations I have been involved with as the quality of the films was so high. In the end, the Jury was unanimous in its choice of Blush of Fruit for the F4 prize and Indelible to take out the Asia Pacific Award. Both are great films and a solid foundation for the Asia Pacific New Documentary Program.”


Past Recipients

2013 - Grace McKenzie, Audrey of the Alps  

The judging panel consisted of Jury President Kathleen Drum, Head of Marketing Screen Australia; Jane Balfour, Jane Balfour Services; Scott Hicks, Film Director; Kerry Heysen-Hicks, Producer, Kino Films and Ben Tsiang; Co-Founder and CEO of CNEX.

2012 - Paul Gallasch, Killing Anna

2011 - Maya Newell, TWO

2010 - Elizabeth Tadic, Umoja: Where Women Run Wild


Submissions closed on the 11 October 2013.

Thank you to everyone that submitted to F4 - you will be notified of the selection results in the coming weeks.

Film entries are judged on how well the director demonstrates his/her creative vision through the approach to their subject, communicating a clear sense of directorial style and creative authorship.

Powered by Cincopa






Blush of Fruit, by Jakeb Anhvu